Daily Archives: Tuesday, August 14th, 2007

Gas station

N48806132 31168510 2572
About a week ago I was in Vernon doing some things. I stopped to get some gas at the Valero on route 83 near Walgreens. There was a new thing on the pump that I hadn’t seen before. It also happened that I was talking with my dad on the phone at the same time. I put my credit card through the machine and started filling up. A few seconds after I started pumping this thing started talking at me.

I think it was telling of specials and deals that were going on, but I didn’t really listen. At the time I had one hand on the pump and the other was holding my phone to my ear. That left zero hands available to hit the mute button on it. The device wasn’t quiet either. It made holding a conversation on the phone impossible. I had to tell my dad to hold on a second while I put the phone down and hit mute.

This new device is the most annoying thing I’ve ever come across. Next time I’m there I’m going to record it for you so you can hear how stupid it is. I’m also going to complain to the attendant at the station.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rambling